Durga Puja
Puja Nirghonto 2007
Puja Rituals
Puja Mantras
Sindur Khela
Probashe Puja
ECDPA Executives
News & Events
About Us
SAIKAT MITRA is the son of the illustrious singer and music composer, Lt. Shyamal Mitra. His debut performance was a charity show of "Kumar Sachin Dev Burman Memorial College", where he received profuse appreciation. After the untimely death of his father, LT. Shyamal Mitra, in 1987, he became the answer to the mass audience of Bengal. He was then widely accepted all over Bengal.

His first music album was an EP Disc from Sounwing in 1986. In 1987, he sang for Music India audio company. From 1988 onwards, he remained a regular artiste of HMV, from where his cassettes of Bengali modern songs were released. In 1994, he started a music company of his own – "GOLD DISC" – from where further his albums were released. Simultaneously, he sang for other leading audio companies – HMV, Tips, Gathani, etc.

He has been awarded "Hemanta Smriti Purashkar", "Ritwik Ghatak Smriti Purashkar", "Salil Choudhury Smriti Purashkar", "Lions Award", "R. D. Burman Award", "Kishore Kumar Award", "Uttam Kumar Award", etc.

He has excelled as a singer, as well as a music composer. He has lent his voice in many Bengali films - "Kenaram Becharam", "Maa Ek Mandir", "Natun Surya", "Noti Binodini", "Aagaman", "Sujan Sakhi", "Rin Mukti", etc. He has also sung in many tele-serials – "Charitraheen" (Hindi music director Sri. Salil Choudhury), "Seemarekha", etc.

His debut as a music director was the film "Misti Madhur". He has also composed music for the films - "Bijoyee", Miss Moitreyee", and for many tele-serials. He has also composed music for Bengali modern songs (non-film), both for his album and also for other artistes.

He is the disciple of Pandit Prasun Banerjee and Smt. Uma Dey (Both were classical vocalists). He was the secretary of APPS (Association of Professional Performing Singers), which is a leading organization of West Bengal.

He has sung for eminent music directors like R. D. Burman, Bappi Lahiri, Sahil Choudhury, Hemanta Mukherjee, Bhupen Hazarika, Shyamal Mitra, Abhijit Bandopadhyay, Anal Chattopadhyay, and so forth.

View Puja Gallery
Listen to